Are you listening?

One of the worst side-effects of the pervasiveness of technology in our lives is that we’re constantly multi-tasking.  (I know, honey: “Men can’t multi-task.”)  How often are we able to devote our full attention to just one thing?  I’m as guilty as the next person.  As I’m writing one document, I have iTunes playing away and if I hear the email chime, I’ll check.  I can be extremely distracted in an effort to not miss anything important and “make the most of my time.”  Well, of course, this means that doing many things poorly ends up becoming the principal mode of operation rather than doing one thing well.  Nowhere does this bother me more than in music.

Music “is the soundtrack of our lives.”  Everywhere you go, there is music playing.  On your car radio – in the mall – your dentists office – as background to every broadcast message you hear.  Music is everywhere.  But how much of it do we actually hear?  Do we ever stop and just listen.  Or are we so inundated with music in our daily lives that the last thing we want to do is put on some music when we get home and just listen.

How many people even have a home stereo system of any sort?  You know, a device that is devoted exclusively to playing music. How many people actually enjoy being totally focused on listening to a single piece of music?  I know that when I force my music classes to listen to music, there is always a segment of the class who have to comment, or are otherwise visibly bored by the fact that the music is the only thing going on at the time.  (email chimed and I looked – damn! I am as guilty of a lack of focus as the next person – or worse!)

I wonder how many people actually read my blog.  But if there is anyone out there, I would love to hear how you listen to music.  iPod? Home stereo?  Car stereo?  Background?  Foreground?

If you comment, I promise to read and respond.  I think that I can stay focused that long!!!!

Leave a Reply

