Update

OK, it seems that I am bound and determined to post to this blog at least once every 4 months.  The one thing that I can promise is that I will blog more often in the future.  I will be required to, I’m sure.  But more on that later.

I am the kind of person that does get totally involved in what I’m doing and probably doesn’t reflect as much as I need to.  I certainly reflect in different ways and face to face conversation is my most common way to think things through.

Since my last post, I was lucky enough to attend a great conference in Chicago put on by Follett Software.  It was one of the few conference that I know of that combines library issues with technology issues and curricular issues.  There was time to talk about Follett’s products and as a Follet Software user, that was very useful time.  But it was also a great opportunity to learn about multiple aspects of my profession and meet a great bunch of folks from around North America.

Shortly after I returned, I was finally given the mandate at my school to move full-time into the Library.  As of this Fall, I will be heading up the Library at our Senior School.  This is an opportunity that I’m truly excited about.  It is rare to be given the opportunity to completely reinvent oneself in terms of one’s career within the security of one institution.  The key element that unites my previous role as a music teacher/director and my new role in the Library is that they are both vehicles to propel my love of learning and that is what I’m truly grateful for.  I will continue to work hard in the realm of educational technology in the school helping to develop better and more facile use of technological tools to facilitate student learning.  It seems that the Library is a natural link to technology as it moves to more of a learning commons concept.

The other exciting opportunity coming my way is that I will be embarking on a Masters of Library and Information Sciences degree this fall through San Jose State University.  I love the way that SJSU marries technology with education and Library Sciences.  I look forward to developing a clearer concept of the role and organization of the library in the 21st Century and how technology moves that forward.  If it says anything about the program in terms of it’s approach to technology, the first required course is a social media orientation course.

I’m looking forward to keeping you posted (hopefully more regularly!)

Leave a Reply

